Originally a grocery store, Cecil's began in 1945 when two brothers returning home from the war took over the building, closed the grocery store and started a BBQ business. Known as Cecil's, the business quickly became a favorite Jacksonville dining spot. The original building was nothing more than a shack on Arlington Road (as we've been told by our older patrons) and was later replaced by a new building in 1972. We do not know if either of the brothers were named Cecil. Perhaps one was. Perhaps it was named after a friend in the war or a family member. The mystery remains and so does the name.
The business was purchased in 1989 by Charles & Marcia Logsdon (C&M Creations). It was C&M that created the Southern menu and neighborhood charm. All were welcome at Cecil's. You didn't have to buy anything to be part of the Cecil's tradition.
Cecil's continued to thrive under C&M's management. In 1997 the building was expanded to double it's original size and included a covered back deck complete with TV's and Horseshoes.
After 20+ years, C&M retired, selling Cecil's to new owners for 20 times the original investment. The new owners decided to completely change the concept, including the name and subsequently went out of business a few years later.
It is our intent to re-birth Cecil's in a new location. The proprietors, Charles Logsdon (previously C&M), Scott Logsdon, and Gerald Bullard have over 45 years of combined management experience and are very motivated to continue the tradition!